Under British and Australian laws a jury in a criminal case has no access to information about the defendant’s past criminal record. This protects the person who is being accused of the crime. Some lawyers have suggested that this practice should be changed and that a jury should be given all the past facts before they reach their decision about the case. Do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays in Australia and Britain, a law was passed that a judge has no information of the accused previous criminal history. Some legal practitioners claims that this custom should be abolished and the jury should be given an insight to the suspect past history before they make their decision. I completely agree with the view point that says the judges should be given an opportunity to know about the accused previous crimes as this will give them knowledge on how to pass their verdict. This Essay will elaborate further points. On one hand, disclosing a criminal past records to the jury would enable them to be able to give their final verdict. Moreover, if a judge gain full access and information on a case he/she would be able to know what this individual is capable of doing. in addition, it also gives the jury more insight on the behavioral pattern of the suspect and make them find more evidence that links the crime to the suspect. For example, in 2004, an American judge was rewarded by the victim’s family with flowers and post cards for his spectacle role in the case, where they made a comment that lead to the accused full confession of the crime. On the other hand, the law of Britain and Australia frowns at this and this is second to the fact they feel the judge might give a biased judgment as a result of having full knowledge of the criminal offense in the past. However, statistics shows that people who commit a crime feels more secure when they know their case will be fair and free without being threatened by whatever happened in the past life. In conclusion, while the Australian and British government pass a law that the past records of suspects be withhold from judges some legal officers believes that withholding this information might lead to a non- biased judgement.