Some people think that current environmental issues are global problems and should therefore be dealt with by the government while others believe that these problems can only be tackled by individuals. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

According to some people only national governments can solve the problems affecting the environment. Others counter this view and insist that individuals alone can improve the condition of the planets. In my opinion, neither the government nor the people can solve environmental issues without each other’s support. There are certainly a lot of things that governments can do. To start with, they have the mandate of the people. The people who voted them to power have given him the authority to enact laws for protecting the environment. For example, the governments can enact laws for protecting the wildlife. It can enact laws for emission control. All of these measures play a significant role in reversing environmental damage. Afforestation, for example, is a proven way to arrest global warming. Likewise, governments alone have the resources to invest in research and development of green fuels. On the other hand, individuals also need to contribute their bit. If each person makes a conscious effort to reduce their carbon footprint a lot of the problems affecting the planet can be tackled. They can do this by reducing their energy consumption, preventing the wastage of materials, recycling and reusing old goods. They should take public transport whenever possible and do their bit to enhance greenery in their surroundings. While these are simple measures, they will produce measurable results if they are taken by everybody. To conclude, environmental issues can be tackled only if the governments and individuals make a concerted effort. Governments can contribute by enacting environment friendly laws and people should reduce, reuse and recycle things.