Global environmental issues are the responsibility of richer nations, not poorer ones. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

As environmental problems around the world become more serious, it is important that something is done about them as soon as possible. Because we all share the same planet, it is the responsibility of everyone to protect it, although nations with more ability to fix the problem should do more. Richer nations became rich by using the environment and this has led to the problems we have today. By using a great amount of natural resources, like oil and coal, to produce things, they created air pollution and destroyed a lot of places where plants and animals live. Therefore, they should pay to help fix the problem because they have benefited the most from damaging the environment. On the other hand, if countries with a lot of money try to fix the world’s environmental problems, it will not matter if the poorer countries are still polluting the environment. The majority of the world’s population live in developing countries and as these places become more developed, their pollution levels also increase. For example, the world’s biggest polluter is China and its population is much more than one billion people, so even if richer countries stopped polluting, the world would still suffer from pollution. Overall, the best way to help the environment is for everyone to take care of it. The world is connected, so even if one part of it tries to improve the condition of the environment, it will not matter. Countries that have more money should take the lead, but protecting the environment needs to be a priority for all of us.