Undeniably, technological advancement has rapidly eroded traditional culture we inherited from our ancestors. Traditional games, musical instruments, performances and celebrations are given less and less attention in this era of globalization.

Undeniably, technological advancement has rapidly eroded traditional culture we inherited from our ancestors. Traditional games, musical instruments, performances and celebrations are given less and less attention in this era of globalization. To illustrate, traditional games such as kites and tops have given way to the new, modern and sophisticated video games. Children nowadays are more interested in playing video games rather than traditional games which they deem old-fashioned. Apart from this, traditional musical instruments such as banjos are being replaced by new innovations such as pianos and electric guitars. In addition, the number of traditional performances organized such as the Chinese Opera have also been decimated over the past few decades. This is mainly due to creation of idiot boxes which broadcast a variety of TV shows, making traditional performances pale in comparison with all the comedies and soap operas broadcasted. Indeed, traditional culture is slowly being wiped out by the strong current of technology. However, both of them are not mutually incompatible. In other words, both of them can exist together. Concrete steps can be taken in order to bring these forgotten traditional cultures back into our society. One way of doing this is to educate our younger generation on our traditional cultures. Traditional games can be introduced as a kind of sports in schools. Parents also play a major role in educating their children to appreciate traditions which have been passed down from generation to generation. Traditional performances and the use of traditional musical instruments can be revived through the promotion by the media. In conclusion, the strong current of technological advancement has indeed washed out some of our traditions; nevertheless, both of them are not mutually incompatible. We can preserve our treasured traditions which reflect our origins and roots but at the same time manage to develop our country with full utilization of technology. To illustrate, traditional games such as kites and tops have given way to the new, modern and sophisticated video games. Children nowadays are more interested in playing video games rather than traditional games which they deem old-fashioned. Apart from this, traditional musical instruments such as banjos are being replaced by new innovations such as pianos and electric guitars. In addition, the number of traditional performances organized such as the Chinese Opera have also been decimated over the past few decades. This is mainly due to creation of idiot boxes which broadcast a variety of TV shows, making traditional performances pale in comparison with all the comedies and soap operas broadcasted. Indeed, traditional culture is slowly being wiped out by the strong current of technology. However, both of them are not mutually incompatible. In other words, both of them can exist together. Concrete steps can be taken in order to bring these forgotten traditional cultures back into our society. One way of doing this is to educate our younger generation on our traditional cultures. Traditional games can be introduced as a kind of sports in schools. Parents also play a major role in educating their children to appreciate traditions which have been passed down from generation to generation. Traditional performances and the use of traditional musical instruments can be revived through the promotion by the media. In conclusion, the strong current of technological advancement has indeed washed out some of our traditions; nevertheless, both of them are not mutually incompatible. We can preserve our treasured traditions which reflect our origins and roots but at the same time manage to develop our country with full utilization of technology.