Government increasing taxation on petroleum products, many consider it not beneficial.

In recent times, increasing taxation is seen by the government on petroleum. Although, many individuals believe that such a step is inappropriate. I disagree with their view to a large extent. My position is further elaborated with reasons in examples. Out of all the reason, the foremost argument to justify my stand is that as increasing pollution and concern of climate change, heavy taxation on petroleum products is necessary. This is due to excessive consumption by the public. If prices of petrol, diesel are high, people will consider using personal vehicle really and prefer travelling in public transportation. In addition to this, by taking such steps, it can be helpful in reducing the use of fuel powered vehicles. As most governments are promoting the use of alternate sources such as electric powered vehicle, due to heavy taxes and increase prices of of fuel, people would consider moving towards electric vehicles. Which would also assist in reducing the carbon footprint worldwide. However, on the contrary, it can be stated that search and implementation should lead to inflation of prices of all products. Every other service or product is linked to petroleum one way or another. For example, almost all products and services require transportation, why prices of fuel would increase, it would also led to increase in transportation cost, eventually increasing the overall price of the product. Thus, to conclude the discussion it can be commented that despite the fact that prices would increase, I believe increasing taxation on petroleum products would be beneficial in long term and is a more rational approach.