Old people take a while to begin using new technology, such as mobile phones. Why do you think this is happening? Suggest ways to encourage them to use mobile phones and new technology for their benefit.

The technology is developing rapidly nowadays. Even young people sometimes are not quick enough to follow all the new things IT-industry presents. It is clear that mature people are unlikely to get into using new technologies without help. So both young family members and the government should take responsibility for encouraging pensioners to use mobile phones and other technological goods for not being cut off from society. One of the reasons that old people are not aware of how to use the technology is that they don’t see any need to use it. This means that our grandmothers and grandfathers have been living many years without anything like cell phones, tablets or laptops and everything was convenient and fine. In order to tackle this issue, young relatives should educate elderly people about the convenience, ease, and the necessity of contemporary devices. Another cause of ignorance of the new technologies by the retieries is their convenience of the fact that it’s too late for them to learn something new. To address this problem, there should be courses for old people organised by the government. The group of people of the same age will be an inspiration for those who gave up to learn technologies. They will also support and help each other and, consequently, the progress will be visible very quickly. In conclusion, it should be said that our grandparents need our support on their way to explore new technologies. We should also bear in mind that the government’s role in solving the problem is significant. We should act quickly in order to make lives of old people in today’s society more full, convenient, and enjoyable.