Undeniable roles of historic sites

Italy received 48. 6 million tourists in 2014, which made it the fifth most-visited country in the world ( (McCabe, 2016). In attempting to lure these tourists to the country, historical sites are, as a matter of fact, the biggest contributors because “the Italian museum system is a key attraction for tourism” (as cited in Harris, 2016). This paper aims to examine the significant roles of historic sites in Italy by analyzing their positive impacts on the growth of the economy and on enhancing people’s knowledge about the past. As far as the growth of the economy is concerned, historic sites play an essential role in boosting Italy’s tourism and generating income. First, historic sites attract more tourists to Italy, which contributes to the development of tourism. According to The Local (2017), the number of visitors to Italy’s museums increased 12, 5 percent in 2017 and are is forecast to rise. This impressive figure has shown the remarkable interests of tourists for the cultural sites and implied the witness of a considerable amount of entrance fees for the tourism economy. Secondly, the historic sites bring more jobs opportunities for the hosting community and generate income for many people. People are hired to do jobs in all aspects such as archeology, maintenance, security, management, sales, etc. By and large, historic sites have solved the problem of unemployment, which provides an enormous help for the local economy. A research conducted in 2013 showed that the tourism industry offered more than 2. 6 million jobs, which equaled to 11. 6% of entire Italian employment (Ali, Ciaschini, Pretaroli, Severini, & Socci, 2014). Another crucial role of historic sites is that they are the potential agents to enrich every (people’s) person’s knowledge about the past. There is indeed no better way to learn history other than to learn from tangible objects. Historic sites provide trustworthy artifacts for local residents to remember and preserve their own culture and origin. While through these artifacts, tourists can acquire knowledge about other cultures to make their trip more memorable. They can also make a comparison between two cultures in order to understand their own culture in depth. Furthermore, historic sites is are also a precious asset to educate young people. A field trip of learning in museums is an inspiring adventure for children. When I was younger, each time my teacher took me and my friends to the museum was an exciting time. I had a better understanding about the textbook which is somewhat boring to many people. The museums and its activities particularly encouraged me as a young child to learn about my own history and culture. All in all, historic sites’ roles are obvious. This paper has shown two of their typical roles with the case of Italy. They not only boost the tourism, but also educate people of all ages. It is necessary to develop the historic sites and preserve the objects inside it them.