Increasing vehicles is causing excessive traffic

Indeed, statements like “I got stuck in a traffic jam for 4 hours because of festive rush” and “It rains for just 10 minutes and all the roads get jammed for hours” are becoming more common. I agree the city roads are getting overcrowded and this is due to two fundamental reasons. First, there is a trend of nuclear families as opposed to joint families. More individual households coupled with multiple working family members are resulting in rising car ownership. Second, cities are getting bigger increasing the distances between places. This is requiring people to buy more cars to navigate cities for daily needs. The government has numerous tools to reduce congestion on roads. The ideal solution is to bolster the public transport system. Lower costs, increased reach, and easy access to public transport can motivate people to not drive personal cars. An unpopular solution is also to increase petrol prices. This incentivizes individuals to use public transport due to an increase in ride costs. Lastly, certain incentives can be provided for carpooling to reduce traffic. Dedicated carpooling lanes and not charging road tolls are two such existing examples. A new approach for the government is to support start-ups that provide carpooling services. For instance, the Indian government has funded a start-up called DriveZ which provides carpooling services. Multiple colleagues of mine use it to travel to Pune from Mumbai on the weekend which is a four-hour drive. This simple service reduces the use of cars by 75%. Recapitulating, the changing lifestyle is increasing car ownership due to multiple reasons. Still, the government has the requisite tools to combat traffic jams.