More life expectancy is good

In the past century, medical industry has evolved drastically. Innovation has not only led to development of cures for previously terminal diseases but also treatments that can extend life up to decades. As a result, the average life expectancy has more the doubled in just the past 100 years. I believe this has led to people living longer and more fulfilling lives. One major benefit of increased life expectancy is quality of life. People have gained more time to contribute professionally to society, enjoy pleasures of life and fulfil their ambitions. It has allowed humans to take a long-term perspective on life which is also sustainable for the environment too. For instance, oil is being consciously replaced by renewable energy to build an ecosystem that is not only sustainable for us but also does not harm the environment for future generations. Living longer has also created a mindset and cultural change in people. People have now become more responsible as they have started planning for their future. Retirement planning and family planning are two examples of the social change that this development has introduced. Longer life expectancy means the family needs to be supported for a longer period of time and so will require more resources. Therefore, people have started planning their families with more consideration which is in turn helping to battle the problem of over population. On the other hand, longer life of individuals is causing additional stress on the limited existing resources. On a macro trend, advancement of medical treatments is abetting the growth of over population. As the death rate is increasingly falling, population is burgeoning. To summarize, increased life expectancy due to improvement of medical care practices is a beneficial to humans. It is bringing about positive social and environmental changes by encouraging people to live more sustainable.