Unacceptability of the death penalty as a form of capital punishment in todays society

An example of capital punishment within society is the death penalty. It has been a dreaded punishment which has been prevalent over the last few centuries as there were only a few alternatives to such acts of injustice. Some of these alternatives included methods such as hang drawn and quartered and the electric chair. All of the aforementioned methods are demonic and a cruel way to end someone life, however is it really the price someone has to pay for possibly the only mistake in someones lifetime? Despite its grim connotations the death penalty was often the most effective way to punish those who wronged others within society. It was a cost effective and swift technique which could either be performed as a public execution or, the opposite, behind closed doors. Another way in which it could be beneficial under certain circumstances is that it it can deliver justice in a way that gains the public eye and encourages the entire society to use that individual as an example of wrongdoers and learn from their mistakes. Most importantly not to make their mistakes, this often worked in reducing the crime rate and has been proven to work over numerous occurrences in the long history of human society and interaction. It allows bodies in power to create examples of individuals and teach the society in general a lesson. Despite what seem to be beneficial factors to this inhumane act, it has a ever-growing list of issues and drawbacks In todays modern day society it violates many human rights conditions, it creates a bad image of the government and on top of this, unlike the people of the older generations, communities wont stand down and conform to the social norm. They will riot for their rights. Drawbacks mainly include ethical issues and public relations. Although the death penalty is used to serve justice in today's environment with all its problems, many are unfairly treated by the judicial system and its unfair and biased operation. Although the death penalty may have seemed to be the logical answer to the crimes of an individual in generations which have passed, in the new day and age we have alternatives to it. Alternatives which don't involve the irreversible action known as death. Alternatives that can allow the individual to reflect on their actions and seek repentance, however the real question to be answered is whether or not capital punishment and the death penalty is unacceptable in today's contemporary society. My answer to that question is that i undoubtedly agree with the statement. Any individual, no matter the reason for the suggestion of capital punishment, should be given the opportunity to improve. If we as a society were to accept this form of capital punishment as a norm we would spiral into chaos, humans aren't perfect and deserve the opportunity to right their wrongs!