TV shows about talent are gaining popularity in many countries today. Are these shows a good method of finding talented people, are they just entertainment?

TV shows about talent are gaining popularity in many countries today. In my point of view, most of these shows are just entertainment, not a good method of finding gifted people. The first paragraph is the reason for my opinion, the second is an exception. First, the aim of these shows is profit, not improving someone’s abilities. They use the same formula for making a televised talent show, they invite some celebrities to be the mentors, wait for people to come and let them compete with each other. We can mention some of them, like the X factor, BGT, . . . If the show becomes the golden-egg laying hen, they will continue with it. If not, the show will be canceled. With the mentors, they just give some sketchy advices, choose the good ones after each round and then we have the winner. No matter what these mentors do, everyone knows that it does not really make an impact on the talent development of participants. Then, after the show, will the outstanding talents be professionally trained to improve their skill? Unfortunately, most of the time, they won’t. To be honest, all the things that the show creators do is just wait for people who have good abilities to come, let them be on TV, gain money and do nothing with their abilities. However, beside these shows mentioned above, there are some shows really looking for people who have good abilities and then let them improve themselves in a better condition, especially Road to Mount Olympia. The show finds good students all over VN every year, then gives them a scholarship in an Australian University, where they are trained professionally, where they can improve their knowledge and skill better than in VN. In conclusion, I think game shows on TV are not a good way of finding talented ones. They are entertainment, just find the ones who are better than usual and do nothing with them to turn them into the talents.