True success can be measured primarily in terms of the goals one sets for oneself.

Every individual sets a goal for themselves, whether it is a short-term or a long-term one, and act on it so that they can achieve them and realize their dreams. They measure their success on the amount of work they have done to reach a particular point and the targets they were able to reach. So, I agree with the statement that it is from one’s goals that their true success can primarily be measured. Firstly, I firmly believe that an individual’s capabilities are best known to himself rather than a society or elders. So, it is the person himself that has to take an initiative to spend time on noting the tasks they need to work on, and act accordingly. However, it is obvious that people tend to take suggestions from others, but it is to be noted that they should not completely place their trust and depend on others. Instead, they have to depend on their interests and motivations, act step-by-step accordingly. Consider Steve Jobs as an example, the world named him successful for running Apple successfully and re-designing Macintosh in the 1990’s. But Steve wasn’t convinced of this achievement-he wanted to do something more creative and has challenged himself by setting a larger goal of making a smartphone. When the iPhone got finally introduced in 2000’s, Steve’s eyes were lit and he was so happy for this invention that has the potential to revolutionize the world. So, it is always important to follow our passions and set goals accordingly, and a person can be successful if he could achieve these goals. People also tend to set their goals from their past experiences and any improvisations that can be made to produce a better output that can revolutionize the world. For instance, Elon Musk, a billionaire and the creator of Tesla and SpaceX, has seen the potential of automobiles in the current world. He was always concerned of the impact of excessive utilization of fossil fuels and wanted to produce something different and this has paved the way for utilizing electricity for running vehicles. The goal that he set for himself was a trivial one, and it needed years of hardwork to achieve it. The world has named him a successful person for the way he revolutionized the automobile industry. This is another example which one can surely say that attaining self-goals is a measure of true success. However, some people argue that success can only be measured on the goals that the society has set on a person. They tend to say that teachers and parents know better about the children and have to tune them in such a way that they begin to work on a goal that the society has set on them. This argument seems baseless because it is the influence of the innovations that changes the minds of young people and attracts them to work on something new, and if they are bound to listen to others advice, we might never see any improvements in any fields. Consider scientists as an example, would it have been possible that nuclear energy is utilized as a source of electricity if the governments forced them to work on producing more powerful bombs to destroy the opponents? So, every individual must be left free to follow their intentions and set goals to achieve success. Taking all the above points into consideration, it is the role of society to guide people, but not influence them, so that individuals can set goals for themselves and act accordingly to achieve success.