true beauty is found not in the exceptional but in the commonplace

The author gives a rather impugning argument that true beauty is found not in the exceptional but in the commonplace. But beauty is truly in the eyes of the beholder, isn’t it? But before we weigh out the why’s and how’s of it all, we look into what we understand is beauty. Beauty is subjective and relative but if at all we were to define it, beauty is based on the theory of attraction. What is attractive is said to be beautiful. But if we go by what the author claim is true beauty, we miss out on the fact that attractiveness is not common. Firstly, Taj Mahal is an architectural marvel that is lauded for its brilliance in architecture and intricacies in designing. It truly is a beauty that has stood with time. But what fascinates about this structure is that it is a grave that the emperor Shah Jahan built for his deceased wife. If at all the Taj Mahal was like any other grave, it wouldn’t have enjoyed its wonder status. Its beauty is what regards it an architectural wonder that has withstood time. It is believed that the emperor excoriated the eyes and hands of the labourers who aided in the construction of the marvel. It is so that this cannot be replicated by any other man. Because of its uniqueness, it is truly exceptional. While we talk about Taj Mahal, we cannot miss out on the 7 wonders of the world. If these were truly just buildings like any other, they wouldn’t enjoy the wonder status, would they? It is their eccentricity that sets them apart. This might be because of a certain building design like the Leaning Tower of Pisa, or the never- ending Great Wall of China which each have a specific quality that is worthy of the attention. It is said that the Great Wall of China is so long that it is visible to man from the moon. When we talk about man-built definitions of beauty, nature too has its contributions. The flowers that a plant bear is a natural occurrence which is a pretty common sight. But what distinguishes Strobilanthes kunthiana is its flowering occurs once in 12 years. Thousands of people from around the world come in huge crowds to look at this beauty. It is this rareness that attracts people. While some may argue that sunsets are also a natural occurrence that is truly a feast to one’s eyes. The plethora of colour that a sunset adds to the sky is beauty redefined. But although one can argue this stance, one doesn’t appreciate sunset on a daily basis. People notice the sunset when it imparts any kind of uniqueness to the sky thereby proving once and again that true beauty is found in the exceptional. In sum, as the evidence above shows, true beauty lies truly in the exceptional. If it were a thing of the quotidian, its monotony would be hackneyed and lose its meaning.