traveling abroad on holiday can be fun and a unique learning experience. However, many people do not know their own country. How can we encourage people to vacation at home?

Overseas vacations can be exciting and diverse, but lots of travelers are not aware of the tourists' attractions of their home country. So, to promote local travel, taxes on domestic travel fares should be reduced and effective marketing strategies should be made to acknowledge the people about domestic places to visit for their next vacation. Government should deduct the amount of taxes collected from domestic tickets. As a result, more people could afford it as fares for local vacations are reduced. Affordable prices also motivate tourists to travel to domestic vacation spots. For example, in the year 2016 government of Himachal Pradesh, India reduced taxes on hotel accommodations which resulted in a 35% rise in total Indian travelers visiting Himachal Pradesh. An effective advertising campaign should be planned to promote national tourists spots. This will create awareness among local peoples about the domestic places to travel to, as most of them are not aware of the same. In addition, catchy ads can be helpful to divert the focus of potential travelers from overseas destinations to tourist attractions within the country. For example, when the Gujarat state government started an ad campaign starring Amitabh Bachan in the year 2012, they not only have attracted numbers of Indian travels, But also the count of inter-state visitors had also increased by large numbers. In conclusion, making Domestic travel cheaper and successful marketing for informing people about the domestic locations can effectively change the perspective of people for considering to visit domestic traveling destinations for their holidays.