Traffic infrastructure: From animal roads to 'Good roads' The earliest routes for bicycles as they wander from tree to tree and

001512 _ 113 _ 719H0827 Preston L Schiller, Eric Christian Bruun and Jeffrey R Kenworthy are the authors of a good book titled “An introduction to sustainable transportation: policy, planning and implementation”. The book was created in 2010 by Earthscan, quite a while ago about 10 years ago. On the contrary, its merits are still there. It is written about objects including Environmental aspects and Sustainable development. The most prominent is from page 51 to page 79, which is written about “History of Sustainable and Unsustainable Transportation: From Walking to Wheels and Back to Walking”. There are some great contents, including: “Transportation history: The intersection of modes, infrastructure and society” and “Transportation infrastructure: From animal paths to 'Good Roads'”. In the first section about “Transportation history: The intersection of modes, infrastructure and society” which was written about: The history of transportation is a fascinating and vast field spanning millennia from early human evolution to space exploration. Its purposes include human walking and evolution, early experiences of the ocean and river tourism, use of animals for transportation, wheel impact, and early mechanization, roads, automotive, telecommunications, popular culture, and space travel. It sheds light on issues such as the relationship of mobility with communities, economic development, and day-to-day operations. Sustainable transportation has emerged as an essential issue in recent decades, although aspects of sustainability areas ancient as portability. It will focus primarily on road transport and major forms of transport and infrastructure, on the contrary, it will also consider historical aspects of ocean and water travel, telecommunications, and cargo. It is not necessary to understand the next chapters. The second section about “Transportation infrastructure: From animal paths to 'Good Roads'” which was written about: The earliest routes for bicycles as they wander from tree to tree and head straight across the savannas with animal paths. Trail and trail improvements may have started after people have formed permanent settlements and need better connectivity with other settlements. Road traffic moved in the easiest way to connect neighboring towns and cities, and much of the Roman road system was abandoned. The movement of people and goods by inland water as well as by sea continues to progress. In conclusion, the book is exciting, helping us to better understand “History of Sustainable and Unsustainable Transportation: From Walking to Wheels and Back to Walking”. The book's content has partly shown content and knowledge in full detail. Indeed, this book is worth reading and is rated 10/10.