Traffic increases pollution. Pollution increases health issues. Give arguments that increasing fuel prices is better solution for this or not and give your solutions/suggestions.

Traffic, pollution and health are progressively linked to each other. While overpriced petrol rates have decreased traffic and thus pollution, the rise in health problems has not halted. The main issues arising are cardiovascular and respiratory. While there are many possible solutions, increasing fuel prices is far and away the least efficient of them. To begin with, increased gasoline prices especially in underdeveloped countries is only putting more pressure on the individuals and the economy. Even though some people start using public transport instead of personal conveyance which decreases pollution in theory, the majority of population remains unaffected. On the contrary, the health issues like hypertension remain unresolved as it is also directly related to the stress put on people due to expensive fuel. It is evident from an American survey which shows little to no improvement in the percentage of hypertensive individuals after employing such technique. Similarly, respiratory problems like asthma, COPD, allergy and bronchogenic carcinoma are undoubtedly exacerbated owing to increased quantity of pollutants shoved into the atmosphere. On paper, increased prices should decrease traffic and pollution, and consequently such airway abnormalities but statistics say otherwise. A research was done to show that there was insignificant improvement in overall respiratory disorders even after doubling the fuel cost per liter over 2 years. The solutions to these problems require changes at national scale. Firstly, pollution can be decreased with promotion of electric cars as this has no contradictory effect on health. Secondly, public transport quality should be improved to make people choose public transport over personal conveyance. Their ticket prices should also be kept in check. Lastly, old cars that are overused should be kept out of the system as they produce relatively more toxic substances. All these solutions are one time investments with long lasting effects that are necessary to stop further problems from developing.