Students should choose major that prepares them for high paying careers.to what extent do you agree or disagree?

Selecting a major in a university is one of the most important decisions of one’s career. It is argued by some that learners should select subjects that lead to a job with a good salary. However, I completely disagree with them and will explain the reasons why it is incorrect to make such a decision. The primary reason for my belief is that a major should be chosen based on student’s interest as then they will have more urge to learn and grow in that field. For instance, employees working in the field of their interest tend to excel more rather than those working in other fields than their interest. If the decision is made based on just statistics, the job will be more like a burden for a lifetime for them. Therefore, choosing subjects based on interest should be a priority. Another reason is that It will affect the whole economy of the country. It will lead to oversupply in high-paying careers which will, in turn, drop the salary in that particular sector and will raise the salary in other fields due to shortage of worker. Nowadays, jobs in data science are highly paid jobs but it does not mean that all the people should move in that field as we need all kinds of professionals in our economy. Hence, pay should not be a factor when choosing a major or career. In conclusion, although some people believe selecting a degree or career based on the salary is a better option, selecting a major should be made irrespective of numbers to have better growth and to maintain balance in the economy.