traditional books vs e-books

Books, whether electronic or paper, have impacted positively on the readers and enriched them with sophisticated knowledge, for it provided them with experience and life lessons, not to mention the pleasure. And with the advancement and development of technology, books have been transformed into files that a reader can explore through computers, phones, or laptops. Some people believe that this was a huge leap to the future. Therefore, they encouraged it. While others declined such a step and consider it as a disgrace. There are undoubtedly merits and demerits for this evolutionary step. This essay will discuss both sides depending on various international resources. One evidence of the pros to read from electronic books is that it is easier to navigate for a certain page, especially if the novel is thick. Furthermore, it has no weight compared with a traditional book that sometimes weighs heavily. A study that was posted in The New York Magazine in 2015 found out that 96% of people who were addicted to reading preferred not to carry a novella or any kind of books in their bags due to the difficulty they faced holding it while walking. Besides, they asserted that looking for a certain part was faster than checking papers. Consequently, they thoroughly supported the invention of PDF files. On the other hand, reading from a real book seems less harmful according to those who suffer from eyes’ problems; they declared that e-books have countless negative effects on their eyes, especially those who wear glasses. A study by two German researchers confirmed their belief as they conducted an experiment on 150 people who wear eye contacts. They made them read daily from their phones. Consequently, they, the people, complained about different problems, and they ended up seeing an ophthalmologist. Therefore, the two researchers summarized their study by announcing their concerns of this trend. To sum up, From the arguments and examples given, it is no secret that reading form an e-book has perilous negative effects. Therefore, we should put away them for all the reasons aforementioned.