TPO 47 - Question 4 People all ages generally prefer to have as much freedom as possible in determining their behavior. When individuals feel that their actions are being unfairly limited, they often attempt to restore freedom by directly contradicting or

It is undoubtedly that the accelerating rate of traffic jam and contamination has ushered in some pressing concern for society as a whole. While I agree that raising tariffs on the price of fuel can be a possible method of discouraging drivers, I would argue that other effective and measures should be implemented simultaneously. On the one hand, increasing tax on petrol has its own distinctive merits in slashing pollutant and traffic incidence. The first reason is that oil pricing through taxation leaves consumers to determine how best to reduce their cost. As an illustration, people will choose public transportation such as buses or trains to commute instead of using their vehicles and thereby, the traffic congestion will be improved. In addition, applying tariff on the price of fuel will decline the demand of oil, which would help to preserve the environment. Because most of vehicles run on fossil fuel that discharges pollutants into the atmosphere, so if the government does not take steps to restrict the use of oil, it would increase the greenhouse effect and lead to environmental contamination. On the other hand, as it may seem, putting more tariff on oil solely cannot effectively curb the alarming contaminant and traffic jam. Consequently, other measures should also be taken into consideration. One resolution is to offer programs to raise the public awareness of low-carbon. For instance, the government should encourage citizens to exploit renewable energies such as wind, hydro and solar power in order to enhance air condition. Additionally, the state should give top priority to invest in developing fuel-effective car and infrastructure of public transit. As a result, thanks to the development of environment-friendly products, oil as well as individual vehicles will be reduced, contributing to the environmental protection. In conclusion, although I concur with the positive of raising taxes on the price of petrol for the reduction of pollution and congestion, I would believe that other plausible and productive approaches should be employed as well.