TPO 39 - Independent task In the past it was easier to identify what type of career or job would lead to a secure, successful future. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

It goes without saying that career or job has a tremendous impact on every person living. One person should make a decision about him/her career path in earlier years of life. Recently there has been a debate whether identifying one's career is more difficult nowadays in comparison to the past. A person's approach to address this topic vary tremendously from mind to mind. In my personal opinion and as far as I am concerned, I concur with the statement and highly believe that identifying the right job or career path is more difficult and demanding task nowadays. To begin with, there are various changes that might have contributed to this increased difficulty. One change is the rapid development of technology which led to employers demanding more prior knowledge and skills from candidates. By contrast, in the past, if one person wanted to have a job, he/she learned some basic skills and knowledge about that position or career, hence, quickly secured a successful future. Moreover, another change that might have fueled this difficulty is that sciences became more sophisticated in comparison to the past and there is less border between different sciences such as mathematics and biology. To put it in other words, there are more interrelated careers nowadays than the past which makes it difficult for one person to clearly decide what type of career he/she wants. In this sense, as I mentioned above, I highly hold the idea that detecting the right job or career type became harder in recent years. Secondly, another reason for me to hold such belief is that there are more trends in society which makes it more difficult to decide about one's career type than there was in the past. In another words, internet development gave raise to social media platforms, therein created an interconnected global world. Therefore, all kinds of trends, ideas, perspectives and interesting jobs emerged to surface, hence, confused young generation and other people about deciding what type of job or career they want. With that being said, I highly believe that choosing the right career type is more difficult than the past. To put the aforementioned in a nutshell, various factors contributed to change the difficulty level of choosing career type such as technological development and increased connections between different careers. One should go through this decision by thinking right about his/her interests and strengths.