TPO 05 - Question 1 Talk about a place you enjoyed going to or visiting when you were a child. Describe the place. Explain why you enjoyed it.

Since the turn of the century, putting aside the crisis of 2008, we have seen a rapid rise in the global economy. Yet, some specific nations have enjoyed greater prosperity than others have, achieving significant financial success, prompting an increasing difference in lifestyles between cities and rural areas. It has been said, that this trend has the potential to hamper said nations. First and foremost, the differences in lifestyles and opportunities between urban and rural areas can cause an imbalance and increase migration from the countryside to the big cities, thus, augmenting the number of residents in the already packed cities and dwindle down the numbers in towns and villages. The same process happened in Britain during the industrial revolution. However, due to the construction of new industries at the time, work was ample, whereas, nowadays, a shift of that sort will only serve to increase unemployment. Moreover, leaving the countryside might prove to be a hammering blow to various different industries, mainly the agricultural one. If potential workers will decide that country life does not suit them anymore and that they rather enjoy the wealth of opportunities at city centres than continue to work in the agriculture business, both the industry and the country will suffer the consequences, as the price of fruit and vegetables will soar and unemployment will skyrocket. In order to battle this contemporary trend, countries have to reward people who decide to move the opposite way, and facilitate the lives of people in rural areas. For example, a few years ago, Israel decided to hand out substantial monetary rewards to physicians who accept working in certain, peripheral areas. In addition, they received tax discounts. Even though, the health budget rose, the number of general practitioners providing medical care in rural areas increased. Another important option is to encourage companies to move their headquarters to the countryside in order to raise the number of job offerings. This can probably be done by offering them financial incentives. In conclusion, for various reasons more people are leaving the rural areas in favour of bigger cities. While this process has some adverse effects, there are numerous options to tackle it and reverse the trend.