TPO 01 - Question 4Explain groupthink and its effects using example of the computer company.

Many people argue that the function of a building holds greater significance than its external features. While it is true that the building should be constructed to serve its intended purpose, my opinion is that outward appearance is also of equal value. Undeniably, in the design stage, a structure’s underlying purpose must be taken into careful consideration since it is essential to ensure a comfortable and safe environment that enhances work or livability. To illustrate, a residential apartment is to be constructed with habitable rooms allowing the access of adequate daylight and fresh air when at the same time reducing external noise. Moreover, buildings have a wide range of different functions, for example, an office is a place for business activities while school is where students pursue their study, all of which should serve the requirements of building users. For instance, Saigon Opera House was designed to be echo-free in order to preserve all the sounds inside as well as equipped with an oval auditorium to offer the best view from every seat. Nevertheless, the way which a building appears can also have a profound impact on its commercial interest. To be more specific, it is the outer appearance that leaves the first and likely-to-be lasting impression on the customers. As in the case of commercial or shopping centre, an eye-catching frontal display can easily draw the attention of by-passers or potential shoppers, hence stands a higher chance of generating more profit. Apart from this, buildings with charming exterior design can contribute a lot to the locality in terms of aesthetic values. Take the pastel-painted city of Copenhagen, Denmark, as an example. By embracing a picturesque and eye-soothing architectural feature, not only it is one of the most appealing cities in the world, but the town also each year welcomes a massive influx of visitors, who are attracted by the houses’ unique external design. In conclusion, it is my belief that the outward appearance of a structure is just as important as its function.