Toursim is an important industry which has developed the economies of countries in many parts of the world. What effect has tourism had on local communities?

It is indisputable that the tourism commerce has become one of the key sectors in bringing tremendous profit to many nations throughout the globe. Simultaneously, these have also sparked an apprehensive consequence for indigenous residents. This essay is to pinpoint both the potential influence and unavoidable outcomes of travelling itself. In terms of advantages, tourism brings lots of advantages to indigenous people. First, it helps the locals to have a sustainable income. Tourism can provide jobs directly to local residents or can fund a number of activities through the dissemination of income from the MPA. The locals can also have revenue from accommodation, food and local specialities, etc. Second, local services such as education and health have been improved. In addition to raising community funds, tourism activities can also be planned to fund projects like the construction of a new clinic or sponsoring educational programs. Finally, native residents and holidaymakers can interchange cultures and learn about the habits and customs in other regions. Community participation adds value to tourism and the locals will feel more proud of where they live, which helps the locals, especially in rural areas and the backward, integrate into the outside world. On the other hand, tourism also brings a hefty amount of drawbacks. First and foremost, tourism wreaks havoc on natural resources. Mass holidaymakers are associated with an enormous use of energy and many raw materials. Take water as an example, it is undeniable that in peak season, water supply is overused for swimming pools, hotels, and the individual use of mass travels which leads to water shortage. Hence, natural resources are gradually depleted owing to the high pressure of tourism. Second, mass travellers make a huge impact on the environment. In the presence of huge holidaymakers, transport emissions and mountains of plastic waste become a severe problem. As a result, these pollutants have posed a serious threat to the flora and fauna, leading to severe local air pollution and soil pollution as well. For example, waste disposal turns into Boracay - a magnificent paradise transforms into a contaminated disaster. By means of conclusion, it is an inescapable fact that although tourism plays an auspicious role to regional districts, it can also damage those local sites harmfully. It is vital that people should be stimulated in utilizing and developing the tourism industry effectively, but not depending totally on this kind of earning a living.