Some people believe that the best way to improve the general well-being of schoolchildren is to make physical education compulsory in all schools.

While some people do think that gym classes are necessary for children to improve their happiness, others see them as not so necessary. This essay will discuss the both aspects of that. To begin with the positive aspects of having P. E. classes, first of all, exercise is always needed in order to have both physical and mental health. People, including children and adults, usually should walk for longer than about one hour every day. If schools have a compulsory gym classes, children do not have to spend extra hours for exercising. Also, playing sports can help people to improve their team-building abilities. The fact that children need other members to play team sports can be an important reason that schools should have team sports practice in the class. Turning to the negative aspect of having gym classes, I mentioned earlier that exercise is needed for children, but they can just move their bodies outside their classes. In addition, obviously there are many people who do not like or are not good at playing team sports, so this can be one of the factors for children not to want to go to school anymore. In conclusion, there are, of course, pros and cons of having a physical education classes at school. In my view, it is not necessary to have those classes at school. I believe that children should have rights to make their own decisions, and I want the society to know that there are a lot of people that are unhappy and stressed when they have to play sports. However, I think arts, including sports, music, and painting, are closely related to our happiness. Therefore, in the future, I hope children can decide what type of art class he or she will take in their school life.