Tourists damage many historical places, making them harder to preserve. What are some of the reasons for this? Suggest some ways to resolve this problem.

There is a belief that tourists would bring negative effects to historical spots, which may act as a deterrent for preservation. There are two major reasons for this issue that are the contribution of the tourists to the environmental degradation as well as their harmful influence on traditional customs, however, there are some remedies for this problem, as will now be discussed. As far as the causes of this issue are concerned, there are two significant causes. Firstly, tourists are frequently criticized for their contribution to the environmental degradation. It has continuously been noticed that they throw rubbish in their surroundings irresponsibly, which increases a substantial amount of litter everywhere, despite all attempts to minimize waste produced by the local community. This is also a reason contributing to water, air and soil contamination. Secondly, foreign tourists may have a harmful influence on traditional customs of host countries. Moreover, many tourists are careless and insensitive about the emotions and feelings of local residents. For example, in China, some foreign travelers wear inappropriate clothes or expose skin immensely when they visit some pagodas, which leads to some negative attitude an irritation in the local public. Nevertheless, this situation can be improved by adopting different solutions, which could be handled by the government. The most crucial approach is that they should increase the awareness among tourists through different media such as advertisements or roadside billboards, and tourists should be encouraged to get rid of rubbish correctly. Furthermore, the government should loosen the purse-strings in preservation. There should be a yearly conservation of historical places with a view to not culminate in a grave degradation. In conclusion, by the virtue of tourists’ contribution to environmental damage in historical places as well as their improper clothes when visiting these spots, the local community finds it problematic to conserve these historical destinations. Nevertheless, by educating the tourists through media as together with spending more money in conservation can act as a catalyst for this problem.