Increasingly, people eat food from other parts of the world, rather than local food. What do you think is driving this trend? Is this a good or bad development?

Nowadays, people like to explore a wider range of food, going beyond their native cuisine. There are many factors which contribute to this increasing trend. I believe that although, it has a number of advantages, it is a bad development. This essay delves into the reasons and will manifest why it is a positive trend, with relevant examples. To commence with, the major causes for this situation is the imitation of other people. Secondly, advertisements on television or other platforms, lure the citizens to try new varieties. For example, McDonalds has increased their frequency of advertisements, thus reaching a more number of denizens and attracting them. Thirdly, tourism has rose markedly over the few past years. People travel abroad often and gradually adopt the habit of eating outside meal. On the other hand, the masses are forgetting local varieties. They have changed their preferences regarding food products. Moreover, the local food sellers face huge losses as their businesses have been overshadowed hugely. Furthermore, tons of money is sent to foreign countries, which is one of the sole reasons of the drainage of economy. To quote an epitome, Pizza Hut has made a profit of around 125 crores last year, from India itself. In a nutshell, it is quite evident that embracing foreign cuisine may seem to have its benefits as people can access to a wider array of food, the disadvantages can prove to be a huge loss.