“Tourism should be banned in order to protect local cultures and economies. ” Evaluate the impact of tourism in these two areas.

A certain School of thought are of the opinion that a total closure of all activities relating to Tourism is a step in the right direction because it is normalexpected to safeguard the immediate environment, peoples ways of life and the economy at large. To a very large extent, I disagree with this except for the area of environment which I believe tourism has a negative impact on. The continuous visit of people to a particular historical site or an area with a unique culture will in the long run bring about an international recognition to the way of individuals living in the neighborhood which is focused on by tourists. International Recognition by travelers and persons from various walks of life is expected to then lead to researches, investments that are believed will improve the quality of life of the community living in a particular geographical location. In addition, the development of tourism also contributes to consolidating and enhancing traditions, national pride, self-respect, and national pride, promoting the preservation of cultural identity, and preserving diverse culture, overcoming national self-confidence In 2016, the travel and tourism sector contributed $2. 3 trillion directly to the global economy. Indirectly, the sector accounted for 10. 2 percent of global GDP ($7. 6 trillion), 292 million jobs, $1. 5 trillion in exports, and 30 percent of services exports (World Travel and Tourism Council, 2017). With the help of travel, persons living within and around a sightseer site are normal to be gainfully employed as tour guides, tour drivers, accommodation providers due to the diversified traveling and hotel arrangement of visitors. Also, an increase in tax revenue accruing to the government from diversified financial and non-financial activities influenced by tourists is expected due to separate purchases and other expenditures. Finally, having examined and looked at the benefit of tourism on culture and the economy with emphasis on international recognition, higher quality of life, increased employment, increase in tax revenue etc.