Tourism is encouraged in many countries. Does tourism bring more advantages or disadvantages to a country?

Tourism plays a vital role in a county’s economic development. Tourism not only helps in economically strengthening a country but also plays an important role in preserving the culture of a region. In my opinion, tourism has more advantages than disadvantages. In this essay, I shall discuss both advantages and disadvantages, but I will be more inclined toward the advantages it offers with supported arguments. As mentioned earlier, tourism helps boost a country’s economy as it helps support local businesses more. Small vendors and shops in a region can benefit largely from tourists visits by offering cultural items which may be appealing to them. Moreover, tourism helps boost foreign exchange in a country. Small and developing countries can benefit from tourism. Also, tourism creates cultural awareness about a country by recognizing it at an international level. Nations like Thailand, Mauritius and Bali solely depend on tourism for its overall economic development. On the contrary, tourism may promote import of illegal goods such as drugs and weapons into a country. However, this problem can be mitigated by stricter immigration screening such as bag-checks. Crime among tourists is also a prevailing problem in many tourism-dependent nations. This problem can also be solved by teaching people the important role of tourism in a country’s development and by deploying safety officials at tourist places. In conclusion, although tourism has some disadvantages, they can be easily omitted by appropriate measures taken by the government. Governments of every nation should put more efforts in advertising tourism as it not only helps a country progress economically but is also advantageous for the citizens as it supports more businesses and is a huge employment sector.