Tourism is causing environmental problems all around the world. What are the main causes of this? What are some solutions?

All nations have been witnessing various environmental issues caused by the tourism industry. There are a number of factors associated with tourism which leads to these disastrous consequences. However, they can be eliminated by introducing new policies by the governments. Firstly, the major reason for the environment being spoiled by tourism is the pollution, such as air pollution and water pollution to name but a few, which is the result of unrestricted number of tourists and their reckless behavior. Traffic congestion, for example, shoots up when accommodations increase unpredictably in a city, and this causes more greenhouse gas emissions due to exhaust fumes of different means of transport. Moreover, many newcomers are not concerned about protecting the place they are visiting, and this can be seen through beaches thrown with litters by them. Some serious measures should be taken in order to reduce negative effects of tourism on the environment. One way to tackle this issue is to set more strict rules by governments to manage the number of visitors of their countries. By doing this, not only can the number of travelers be limited, but also air pollution will decrease due to less domestic trips. Another method of dealing with tourism drawbacks is to inform individuals about different diseases that can be caused by the polluted water. Should they have been aware of what they might be infected with, they would act more like a responsible traveler. In conclusion, irresponsibility of tourists and insufficient management of tourism industry by the government are more likely to affect the environment in an extremely damaging way. However, the environment can be properly preserved if they make quite a few effective efforts.