Tourism is causing environmental problems all around the world. What is the main problem with this? What is the solution?

It is commonly assumed that our nature has been polluted by an increasing number of travellers. I believe this negative impact is quite specific to single-use amenities. A new strict fine policy can be an effective method to transform this adverse condition slowly. The main issue, in this case, is that hotels, restaurants, and other facilities use huge amounts of products very often delivered and packed in personal single-use plastic packaging that is left unintentionally outside. For example, small plastic shampoo and soap bottles in hotel rooms. Or personal packaging for marmalade, honey, and butter served at breakfast. Multiplied by the number of hotel beds and the number of overnight stays, it gives a rough picture of the magnitude of the problem. Data I came across claimed that as tourists we create more waste than when we live our ordinary everyday lives. To solve this problem in an innovative way, one idea could be substituting plastic with more eco-friendly materials. Changing your plastic non-reusable water bottle to a glass one, or starting to use eco-friendly shopping bags are only the tip of the iceberg of ways you can make a change. The main advantage of this solution is that these kinds of changes do not rely on the government or some type of policy, nor it is restrained to only tourists; anyone can participate. To conclude, the tourism industry is one of the factors that cause environmental pollution. Ephemeral packaging such as plastic toiletries is commonly used when we travel which only adds more fuel to the fire. A creative solution to this is to change our everyday bags and packages to eco-friendly bottles.