Tourism is causing environmental problems all around the world. What are the main causes of this? What are some solutions.

Over the years, tourism industry has gained worldwide popularity. Carelessness in the behavior of the visitors and the construction of roads in the mountains are some of the potential causes of environmental damage which can be tackled by taking suitable measures. A main cause of environmental problem is the throwing away of waste at any place. Tourists, while travelling throw plastic bags and plastic water bottles at any random places instead of dumping it into the garbage bins. The accumulation of non-biodegradable waste, for instance, has been causing the water pollution, and death of many marine animals due to choking in Goa. Another cause of environmental problem due to booming tourism industry is deforestation. This can be attributed to the fact that the construction of roads in the mountainous areas requires the cutting down of trees at a massive scale in order to make the travel convenient. In this way, the depletion of the forest cover is giving birth to many issues like air, noise pollution, and global warming is the consequence. Nevertheless, there are number of ways to tackle the rise of these harmful environmental effects. The first and foremost one is that government should impose heavy fine on the tourists, who are littering waste here and there. As a result, would force people to abide by laws. Furthermore, it is an undeniable that the progression of tourism is not going to halt in the near future, the only way to revert the damage is to plant more and more trees. This would enhance the quality of air we breathe in, and can minimize the levels of air pollution and the rising temperature. Therefore, with the combined efforts of the government and individuals, when adhere to strict rules and regulations, tourist sector can be turned into a boon for the country. In conclusion, despite the damages caused by the tourism industry such as depleting the quality of breathable air and the rise in temperature, the same can be curbed by the regulating authorities by adhering to strict measures of promoting afforestation, by making rules regarding littering.