Employers sometimes ask people applying for jobs for personal information, such as their hobbies and interests, and whether they are married or single. Some people say that this information may be relevant and useful. Others disagree. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

Opinions differ regarding whether potential employees’ personal information should be unraveled to recruiters. Although it is sometimes thought that personal data, such as marital status, interests, and passions can be of no use, others argue that, and I agree, it may benefit both the employer and the employee. First and foremost, it is often believed that employees’ personal information would not be relevant. This is because the focus must be on the interviewees’ academic background and professional experience rather than what they enjoy doing in their leisure time, for example. Being informed about the employees’ marital status, for instance, would not serve the company’s manager since she will be evaluating the workers’ performance while doing certain tasks. If the recruiters learned about some confidential data of their prospect workers, they would have to take it into account during certain circumstances. However, some argue that sharing one ‘s personal information with one possible employer has the potential of benefiting both the company and its employees, and I side with this view. Once the company is aware of its workers' personal preferences, such as free time passions, it stands high chances of catering for both the workers’ needs and wants. To make it clearer, a married person may have to take care of their sick child or spouse, thus the company will be prepared for such emergencies. Learning that a certain group of personnel enjoy playing football, for example, the company might organize certain competitions which would, accordingly, increase the workers’ productivity. Had they not known about their passions, the employers may not have been that considerate. In conclusion, although people’s views may vary, I believe that being knowledgeable about one’s employees’ private information can help both the company and the workers on the basis of promoting the employees’ productivity.