Tourism is a major source of income

It is undoubtedly the case that tourism has become a prime source of revenue in many parts of the world. While there are both advantages and disadvantages associated with this topic, the positive aspects take precedence over all other drawbacks. The two main benefits that come along with tourism are great job opportunities and experiencing a diverse lifestyle. Firstly, working on the welfare of tourists ultimately opens the door for a wide range of employment, starting from large businesses such as hotels and lounges to small commercial initiatives, namely jewelry and antique shops. As a result, fewer people will be deprived of occupations, thereby contributing to the national economy. Another crucial factor is that tourism promotes the local culture and lifestyle of a nation. For instance, Nepal is a developing country with a plethora of diverse traditions and indigenous people. These ways of living can attract thousands of visitors and thus provide a global platform to showcase their unique identity. On the contrary, if tourism is not managed appropriately, it could introduce serious issues such as pollution and loss of authenticity. Research has shown that a country is being more polluted due to over-exploitation of available resources, and unmanaged garbage systems, for which negligence of tourists contribute one of the significant roles. Moreover, people are greatly influenced by foreign lifestyles and found to mold themselves to please tourists. These can be exemplified by how restaurants have started approaching international cuisines in fancy items like ceramics and glasses instead of authentic local recipes in traditional utensils. To conclude, even if unmanaged tourism could impact the environment and authenticity, its advantages of employment and presenting one's identity outweigh the discussed disadvantages.