Tourism has become an important industry. This can damage traditional culture. Do the benefits outweigh the drawbacks?

Since 1950s, tourism has become a vitally important industry. Whereas some people argue that it spoils customs, I personally believe that there is a lot to be gained from tourism. Tourism is an industry which has several benefits. The major reason for this is that it brings economic as well as social development to countries in a way that host countries enhance their services, roads, along with social places so as to entertain tourists. For example, the government of France has spent billions of euros in order to improve conditions, therefore tourism contributes one-third to the economy of this state. Furthermore, it is likely to conserve customs together with historic building. As the majority of the tourists visit countries to see customs, host states spend resources on these in order not to reduce the benefit from tourists. The "Sharq Taronalari", for instance, attracts people all over the world to Uzbekistan and this encourages the Uzbek government to retain traditional culture. Thus, there are a lot of benefits to economy and society. Those opposed to this say that international tourism has many negative impacts that result in spoiling national culture. However, there is no proven evidence to support this point of view. Japan, where millions of tourists come to see its historic and heritage culture every year, has no social and cultural problems in relation to tourism and the Japanese do still have strong traditions such as respecting the elderly and voluntary, which means that people can live with tourism together side by side. In conclusion, the merits of tourism clearly overshadow its potential demerits.