Tourism effects on economic growth

Tourism industry research is highly demanded because tourism industry has been contributing on economic growth gradually. The World Travel and Tourism Council reported that international tourists contributed to economic growth tremendously where international tourists spent US$ 1. 7 trillion in 2019 (WTTC, 2021). The developing countries economic growth can be determined by tourism industry in the future (Enilov & Wang, 2021). The tourism to growth context confirmed in Qatar where tourists contributed to economic growth (Ozturk & Al-Kuwari, 2021). Tourism is fastest growing industries as well as the biggest gross domestic product (GDP) contributing industry (Chin-Hong, et al. , 2018). Malaysian tourism is the third largest foreign income earner after manufacturing industry (Misachi, 2017). Between 2000 and 2019, contribution of tourism to GDP of China grew substantially from 129. 5 to 1, 580. 8 billion US dollars rising at an increasing annual rate that reached a maximum of 37. 17% in 2011. (Knoema Commodities Data Hub).