Some countries increase public transportation, whereas others impose taxes. What are the advantages and disadvantages of each system?

When it comes to battling traffic congestion, there are a number of approaches that have proved to be both energy-efficient and cost-effective. Some countries are increasing public transportation in the hope that this measure will decrease the number of people in private vehicles and the levels of air pollution, as a result. However, many others are imposing taxes on those who drive into town. I personally believe that these two measures have their own benefits and drawbacks worth discussing. In many big cities and towns across the world, public transportation plays an important role in the lives of residents and visitors alike. Not only are they affordable for the passengers, they are also environmentally friendly schemes. Increasing public transportation like intra-city buses, subways, sky trains, and other public vehicles will make everyone’s life much easier and the environment will also be preserved. The benefits of public transportation are amplified when the systems are planned and engineered for interconnectivity, high-quality user experience, and efficiency with renewable resources of fuel. However, the drawback might be an inconvenience, especially when people are in a hurry or need to make multiple stops in between. While some countries are tackling their traffic issues by increasing and improving public transportation, many others including England and Singapore, are implementing a stricter regulation which requires all drivers willing to enter the town centre to pay taxes for their entry. This measure is extremely effective in eliminating the number of people who come into town for leisure or entertainment purposes. And as a result of higher expenses, people might find other alternatives like car-pooling more practical and convincing, and as a consequence, this measure will help reduce the number of private vehicles on the road. On the downside, however, this might considerably impact those who are required to drive to work in town and the situation will be even worse if they are the underprivileged ones. This will only put more burden on them on top of their other daily expenses. In my opinion, both of these systems do have their own strengths and drawbacks. The decision is therefore left to the government and the people in each country. The first system mentioned might, for instance, be useful for the rich countries where there are no budget problems to increase both the quantity and the efficiency of public transportation. However, in other less enlightened countries, the latter might be a better option as fewer people will be willing to travel by private vehicles and more willing to give up their own convenience for the better reason; cleaner air and a better world to live in.