Traffic jam is a common problem in many countries, what should government do to tackle this problem? Give your opinion.

It is often thought that traffic issues are one of the common problems in many countries since the governments are trying to mitigate this problem. Let us consider the cause of the problem and determine its possible remedies. To begin with, the excessive number of private vehicle is the main reason behind this problem. Since the development of industry, the price for private vehicle is becoming cheaper over the year. Compared to the past, which only the rich were capable to buy cars or motorcycles, today, almost everyone can buy their own vehicle and use it for commuting purposes. On top of that, many financial businesses also offer credit system for cars payment. As a result, an outbreak in the number of vehicles causes traffic jams in almost every corner in big cities. However, there are several measurements that could be taken by the government in order to deal with such problem. Firstly, limiting the number of private vehicle through the application of high taxes could be the most effective way to reduce number of private vehicle. When the tariffs and taxes for car ownership is high, it is more likely for people to use alternative option such as public transportations for their commuting purposes. Furthermore, the tax for private vehicle can be used to improve the sector of mass transportation. Improving the convenience of the mass transportation such as buses and train may encourage people to choose public transportation as their commuting solutions. Besides, the taxes can also be used as subsidies in this sector, so the cost of mass transportation services can be reduced. In summary, traffic jam is indeed a serious problem for many communities. For this, governments as the public authority can implement public policies such as high taxes in order to mitigate this problem.