Topics: now a days, a lot of offices employ open-space designs instead of separate rooms for work. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this trend?

In recent times, the corporate offices are experiencing significant changes in structural design. The separate rooms for work have been replaced by an open space. In this essay I shall describe interaction and problem sharing as the main benefit of an open space set up while the main problem is the wastage of time due to gossiping. The main advantage of working in open space design is the interaction among the employees. The employees sitting face to face can share their work-related problems and personal hitches with each other which gives them a relief from mental stress. They can overcome their work place related obstacles just by dint of sharing. For example, the employees in accounting sections being busy round the clock have hardly any time to interact with colleagues of other sections in other levels. This results in extreme mental fatigue to employees working in a separate room. The main drawback of working in open space design is the wastage of time. The employees who have a face to face set up are likely to gossip on personal issues keeping their work aside. Thus, the organization suffers from lack of productivity, lack of income generation which results in adverse financial performance. For instance, a study finds that around 20% of the profitability declines due to lack of concentration on work. This results in lay off the underperformed workforces. In fine we can say that an open space set up gives employees opportunities to interact with each other which helps to solve mental stress of the employees abruptly but the problems of it are not ignorable. Wastage of time due to gossiping desperately kills the productivity and profitability of the company. Therefore, I think the benefits of open space design outweigh its demerits.