Topic: What are the advantages and disadvantages of fossil fuels? Make an outline and write an essay of about 250 words.

Fossil fuels, such as coal and oil, are the main sources in many countries around the world in the last one hundred years. However, this widely used source of energy contains both advantages and disadvantages. The main advantage of fossil fuels is their cheap price. It’s relatively easy and cheap to produce these fuels, and there is a huge supply. Additionally, since it has been used for centuries, we have a variety of great and well-developed infrastructure in place to distribute it cheaply. What makes fossil fuels stand out is their reliability. Contrasted with renewable energy such as wind or solar power, fossil fuels don’t need environmental factors or ideal weather conditions to function efficiently. Despite the merits mentioned above, there is no question that fossil fuels have considerable demerits. One disadvantage of fossil fuels is that they are non-renewable. If we do not reduce our heavy consumption, fossil fuels will run out quickly, maybe in our lifetime. That means this is a major problem for our future generation. Undoubtedly, the most serious disadvantage of fossil fuels is the environmental problems. It has been supported by many scientists that the use of fossil fuels is the prime cause of global warming. As an example, the release of greenhouse gases into the atmosphere and the burning of fossil fuels have produced a huge amount of carbon dioxide and are massive contributors to this warming trend that the world faces. To conclude, it is worth considering both the benefits and drawbacks of fossil fuels. Obviously, all energy sources have pros and cons. It is our job to determine what is best for both our humanity and the environment.