Fast food restaurants are becoming more popular than ever all over the world. Discuss the possible causes and effects of this phenomenon.

These days, it can be seen that the fast-food industry has been expanded promptly. This essay will discuss the main reasons of this phenomenon and then give its possible effects. Several reasons can be associated with the expansion of the junk food market. The first cause is due to the needs of modern society. That is to say, those with fast-paced and busy work would rather choose spending on ready-to-eat food, which probably wastes a significant amount of time than home cooking. A vast expansion of the fast-food market can be also attributed to the marketing strategies of the fast-food chains. Today, fast-food brands have conducted several advertising campaigns, such as the advertisements on social media feeds or celebrities and influencers marketing. For instance, Mc Donald has become the uncontested leader of the fast-food market because of a series of sponsor videos on social channels produced annually. The popularity of fast food is likely to result in both positive and negative effects. First, the most obvious impact of this phenomenon can be observed in the physical health of consumers. Specifically, the high cholesterol and high calories in fast food could contribute to cardiovascular disease and obesity because it can increase your bad cholesterol and lower your cholesterol with amount of trans fat. Another consequence is environmental issues. The overusing of wrappers, straws, bags, boxes, and plastic to pack the fast-food lead to the amount of litter in the environment. Furthermore, thanks to hormones, drugs, and fertilizers used to produce fast food, seeping into our water supplies, water quality has suffered dramatically. In conclusion, the increasing number of fast-food restaurants is a legitimate problem that is affecting a lot of people nowadays. This issue stems from the needs of people as well as the development of marketing strategies at fast food chains and results in grave consequences such as consumers ‘health and the environment.