Topic: The reason why more and more people are learning English

Social media is inrefutably becoming more and more ubiquitous in our daily lives. Especially in the Information age, it plays a significant role in the way people contact. Rather than interacting directly, people choose to keep in touch with others thanks to the help of powerful tools namely Facebook, Zalo, Twitter, …While this substitute has certain benefits, I would content that they are eclipsed by more potential drawbacks. On the one hand, the striking development of social networking sites provide a good chance for users and their relatives to easily get access. Regardless of graphic locations, staying connected with loved ones is not a matter of time and expense campared to the traditional methods of meeting and conversing with them. Making an use of video call features, texting of Skype, Facebook, . . we can keep in contact with families and friends in an easy way. On the other hand, the increasingly use of social media apps does more harm than good. Instead of paying attention and care for people around, the addicted keep being glued to the screens to interact via messages with icon showing their emotion. It is a common sense that misunderstanding is not only more like ly to happen, but it is not effortless to recognize who is showing the true color in an online conversation. The fequent use of social media negatively affected the style of writing, the youth are not fully aware of social etiquette and netiquette when writing formal emails. The teenagers use abbreviated words as regular. They are lacking of interpersonal skills, therefore they have difficulty in making face-to-face conversation, even a brief talk. It is a compelling reason why there has been an unprecended paradox: Internet overusers always feel the growth of sadness and loneliness, easily suffer from depression and autism in today’s widely connected world. In conclusion, although several advantages can be derived from social network, I hold a strong belief that they are far outweighted by numorous glaring downsides. It’s highly recommended that humans should spend more quality time on real interaction.