Topic: Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology.

A number of individuals assert that they should only study majors that are applicable in the future, for example, science and technology, whereas it is claimed that undergraduate students should be allowed to study the courses of their choices. I believe in the second point of view. It is argued that university’s education program should only consist of courses related to technology and science. From a personal perspective, those majors are believed to result in jobs that would be in high demand in the future. Therefore, it would lead to a more decent income, career progression and thus an improved quality of life. On the global level, the development of engineering, medical field and information technology have changed the world dramatically. Particularly, vaccination and antibiotics are invented for prevention and treatment of infectious diseases. Moreover, if information technology and engineering did not exist, then humans would not have this marvellous technology evolution like today, such as, computer, internet and smart phone. From my point of view, it is crucial that people in tertiary education would have freedom to study their preferred majors. According to many reliable researches, after university, postgraduate students are likely to continue to pursue the careers that they have interest and passion about. Furthermore, I strongly believe every subject has their benefits to each individual. It is undeniable that the advantages of history, philosophy and art have been shaping our society; for instance, moral ethics in medical practice and entertainment industry. Moreover, trends worldwide are changing daily; therefore, it is challenging to predict which majors would be popular and useful in the future. If there are employments that prioritize creative thinking skills and ability to create unique art, then the current prediction is unhelpful. In conclusion, while some people state that students in tertiary education should only study subjects that related to science and technology, I strongly believe that they should be free to gain knowledge related their preferred majors.