Topic: Owning a car in an urban area

Nowadays, we travel from one place to another for variety of reasons and while travelling we greatly depend on cars, whether it is a private car or a public bus. The number of car owners is increasing rapidly because every person expects the freedom of traveling with comfort and safety. However, owning a car causes many disadvantages as well. The main advantage of owning a car is it gives the freedom to travel. Driving in your own car is much more comfortable than sitting in a bus or train which are so crowded and noisy. Beside, you don’t have to wait for a long time for the public arrivals and you are free to fix routes and timetables. Moreover, having your own car in urban area is much safer, especially at night, than walking down a dark street to get to a bus stop or train station. On the contrary, owning a car is very expensive, it depends on the price of the car, the cost of the tax, insurance cost, fuel cost, driver’s salary, car repairing, … all must be considered carefully before buying one. In addition, as the number of cars is increasing in the road so does the traffic jam, perhaps the major disadvantage of cars, in general, is the huge damage they do to the human health and to the environment. More cars mean more pollution, the environment pollution is a serious issue today and at any cost, we must reduce the amount of pollution. To sum up, owning a car in an urban area can be both advantageous and disadvantageous. It may make someone feel comfortable and safe, however, we need to make very careful decisions.