Topic: Many people believe that social netwroking sites such as facebook, have had a huge negative impact on both individuals and society. To what extent do you agree?

The social networking websites are often considered to have immense adverse effect on people and society. This essay will strongly agree to this idea and ill explore the reasons for why social media sites are proving to be treacherous for the society and what I believe it is necessary to curb the usage amongst the population. Firstly, in the today’s fast paced digital world, technology plays major role in almost every individual’s life. The occasional social gatherings are replaced with various chat groups made over social media giants like Facebook, Instagram or Whatsapp. These virtual ways of communicating to each other have taken the place of physical interactions. As per Psychologists, human to human tangible conversations are essential in order to functions the human brain properly. In its absence, mental diseases like stress or depression have the tendency to surround an individual. This is why the rate of depressed people have shoot up after the year 2010, the same year, Facebook announced their user count is more than 100 million. Following to this, the youth in between the age group of 16 to 35 is actively involved on social media platforms, posting their photographs and personal information make them vulnerable to criminal activities. The more “like” they get, the more it satisfy their mind and more they crave for it and henceforth get addicted to these sites. One study shows that there are 70 percent of young people who spent more than 15 hours over these sites which directly tells how much youngsters waste their time onto it. In conclusion, social media have massive role in bringing people together and are source of new information thereby saving the time of people via instant messaging facilities but in my opinion its disadvantages outweigh the advantages in the present era and people need to be more aware of it.