Some people say that advertising is extremely successful at persuading us to buy things. Other people think that advertising is so common that we no longer pay attention to it. Discuss both viewa and give your own opinion.

There is a controversial issue of whether advertising is successful at attracting customers or fails as it is now common and some people pay less attention or some even ignore it. In my opinion, the definition of advertising is a marketing method to increase sales from some target customers. Therefore, the view that ads triumph might mean that those people are in the target of the advertisement while the other groups might have other interests that make them pay no attention to the ad. To put it simply, to conclude that ads are successful or fail might not be appropriate as the variable factor in this is the customer and their preference. Also, I think that for everyone or most of the people to pay attention to ads, it has to attract people in non-traditional way, so that people remember the ads and think of the product. For the view of those people who state that ads are successful at persuading, they might think that advertisements nowadays have improved to the point that they can research and survey your info and big data to do ads. For example, when you search some shopping items on an online shopping platform, you might find similar items popping up after that as this is the big data, storing what we search and try to persuade us to buy products in the similar category. Another thing is the consumer behavior that usually are attracted to promotions or new items in the ads, they might think that sales are an inevitable situation and thus making them buy the product. Another view would be that people see ads too often as they are not convinced by it, and this become their habit of ignoring the ads as advertisement comes in every form whether in the television, billboard, poster, pamphlet, and etc. This causes ads to become a normal or routine thing for them instead of a new interesting thing for them to be convinced. However, this is also related to the mentioned target customer as people are not interested in those ads like the ones in youtube which sometimes come up randomly, and most people reaction would be to skip the ads or pay for premium to get no ads. For people to be accustomed to ads, it might mean that the ads come out in the similar way that does not seem interesting enough for people to spend time looking at it like the same plot of the movie with little details changed, if it is like this for a long time, less people would come to watch those types of movie as it is non-differentiated unlike those that are unique. In conclusion, people might view advertisements in different ways due to technology improvement that can be applied to even marketing and advertisements, and being non-differentiated ads. Nevertheless, advertisement is still something that depends on the receiver of the message whether their preference match up with the ads as some are convinced and some are not.