Topic 1: Some people think international car-free days are an effective way of reducing air pollution; however, others think there are some other ways. gjgg

In recent times, air pollution has become an alarming issue globally. While international car-free day is an effective approach, I believe that there are better measures to tackle this issue. On the one hand, it is undeniable that a car-free day can reduce air contamination greatly. The first reason is that car dependence is linked to exhaust emission, which pollutes the air and contributes to global warming. If a car-free campaign is launch on a global scale, even in certain days, toxic fume releasing into the environment can be minimized. Secondly, when not being able to travel by car, commuters will resort to other means of transport, such as car-pool vehicles, buses or subways, and this encourages more people to prioritize environmentally friendly vehicles. In the long run, this would cultivate a good commuting habit in the public eye for many years to come. On the other hand, I believe that there are more feasible and sustainable measures to reduce air pollution. The first solution would be to impose higher luxury taxes on cars or raise petrol price in order to deter individuals from using fossil fuels. If there are fewer people afford cars, car density on road will be likely to fall, leading to a decline in gas emission. Furthermore, other developed nations should invest in energy efficient engines for eco-friendly purposes. For example, when sunlight is trapped more efficiently, electric cars will be viable, the world will rid itself of the toxic gases given off by trucks and cars that burn fossil fuels. In conclusion, it is a good idea to have a day when cars are prohibited, but the government needs to simultaneously take other measure such as car price increase and advancement car engine.