Topic 1: Some people suggest banning advertising medicines or dietary supplements on media because these advertisements have detrimental impacts on the audience. What is your opinion?

Social media today has established itself as one of the most ideal means of advertising for numerous products. However, it is proposed that advertisements of medicines and dietary supplements on these platforms should not be allowed due to their overwhelmingly adverse impact on the audience. Personally, I am totally in favor of this idea on account of the following arguments. To begin with, medicine advertising on social media can exert negative influence on the general well-being of the public. As a matter of fact, advertisers are now going to extraordinary lengths to promote their products, with some even making use of celebrities’ endorsement to increase their reliability. Thus, those suffering from diseases, who are desperate for any promising treatments, may be the ideal target of such advertisements. This can lead to drug consumption without consultation with medical professionals, and consequently misuse or overdose of medicines. As a result, their health conditions may be worsened, even fatality in some cases. Secondly, administration of advertised content on social media is presented with numerous difficulties regarding medicines and supplements. Specifically, there exists a significant number of products which are not accredited or certified by any medical departments. Furthermore, effectiveness of advertised products cannot be guaranteed as their positive effects may be elevated, while details on side effects and potential allergies to specific ingredients are often neglected. Consequently, should these medicines and supplements be trusted, consumers would be vulnerable to potential health hazards instead of actually achieving the desired results. Opponents may argue that such advertising can serve as an effective way of promoting novel medical products to doctors and pharmacists. Admittedly, this idea may sound rational as medical experts can turn these products to patient’s advantage. Nonetheless, it should be noted that advertising on social media is accessible to laymen as well. Given their limited knowledge on medicines, there exists possibilities of misuse of drugs and supplements by non-experts, leading to far-reaching health-related problems. Thus, the optimal solution would be doing direct marketing to medical professionals in clinics and hospitals for better assessment and application. In conclusion, advertising of medicines and supplements on social media should not be licensed in light of the aforementioned reasons. Hopefully, those in need of medical treatment should have proper consultation with doctors and pharmacists so as to receive satisfactory results.