Topic 1 for mini essay. What is the most dangerous thing in your home? How can your home be made less dangerous? What is the most dangerous thing in your home for a child? How can it be made less dangerous

Few people would regard their home as an dangerous place to be in. There are for sure numerous ways to make one’s house more safe, but to be honest I’ve never given it much thought. In case of my apartment and its possible danger zones one thing that should be singled out is the wooden floor, that could be very slippery. When playing with my cat I sometimes gather a breakneck speed even on the curves, which could definitely cause an accident. During our playtime I’ve slipped on numerous occasions and even fell down once or twice. Nowadays I’m trying to be more cautious and acknowledge my limitations. Having a pet or a child in the house is certainly a risk factor. You have to keep your head on a swivel and make sure to safeguard the house. Nearly everything can be a potential hazard for a child. My house is not child-friendly, although some of the measures I had to take in order to make it safe for a pet seem quite similar to the ones taken by new parents. Everything that could be swallowed must be kept out of the reach of a pet/child, same with hot beverages, cleaning products…the list goes on and on. To sum it up, we should of course take care of ourselves and use the help of professionals whenever needed but I don’t think we should avoid any activity around the house altogether, because we may end up sitting in a chair all day, of course with a helmet on in case of an earthquake.