Too much outdoor lighting is a problem in many cities nowadays. What are the causes and negative impacts of light pollution in cities?

In this day and age, vibrant and colorful decorations and advertisement boards are placed in many urban areas. This phenomenon leads to detrimental effects to the environment and human health. To discuss the topic thoroughly, I will further analyze the cause and effect of the social issue in the following essay. Busines development is one of the fundamental reasons of leading light pollution. Companies use sparkling colors to attract customer on streets, promoting their newly released commodities and creating the trend of consumerism in society. For example, advertisement with brilliant lights are placed by UNIQLO to convey new winter dressings in Mong Kok, which is a hustle district in Hong Kong. Even at midnight, lights of showcases will not switch off, causing abundant light power in cities. Eventually, the emission of lights leads to light pollution. As a result, light pollution creates harmful impacts on the environment and human health. The pollution alters the living habit of animal species and breaks the ecosystem in nature. Scientists point out that the amount of owls have decreased because of light pollution. It cannot differentiate day and night since the artificial light is a distractor. In addition, different medical reports show that people live in brighter areas will have a higher chance on diagnosis of eye diseases. This illustrates that residents who live near the commercial boards cannot take good rest. In a long term, their physical and mental health will be damaged. To conclude, the government should implement policies to restrict the rots of light pollution and encourage the development of green industry. Henceforth, the environmental species and health of citizens can be protected.