Too much emphasis is placed on testing these days. The need to prepare for tests and examinations is a restriction on teachers and also exerts unnecessary pressure on higher learners.

Too much emphasis is placed on testing these days. The need to prepare for tests and examinations is a restriction on teachers and also exerts unnecessary pressure on higher learners. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Complete Essay There are few who can argue that at the university level in education there is a primary emphasis on testing. It goes without saying that knowledge at this level is based on exams and tests. I totally disagree that tests and examinations put too much restriction on teachers, while these tests do exert pressure on learners, they are absolutely necessary. In my opinion, part of a teacher’s job is to give their students exams and tests, whether they be midterms or finals. I do not think any restrictions for testing are placed on a competent instructor in a classroom setting. If a student does not know the answer to a question on an exam, it is their responsibility to find out the correct answer. Teachers must be responsible for teaching the course material, and they should also be required to test their students level of this knowledge. There are no restrictions for quality testing and education. They go hand-in-hand. If a university has no formal testing methods, and teachers feel they are too restricted by the process, then the entire educational system would need to be changed. Arguably, I think there is no other alternative to such a system where knowledge must be quantified for the assurance that the course material has been learned. Alternatively, tests absolutely put pressure on young learners. But I think it is this pressure that makes all students strive to learn and gain the knowledge they need to be successful. Without any testing at the university level, how is a student’s measure of knowledge known? Students cannot be held responsible to just learn the material on their own. There are simply too many cheaters in an educational environment. Testing demonstrates that the knowledge has been taught, studied, and hopefully learned and retained for future use. If no pressure of tests were involved in the educational process, then it would create a system where performance at a high level is discouraged, when in fact it should be encouraged. Test care designed to make students feel pressure, and if a student believes that tests are unnecessary then they should not be a part of any higher learning institution. To conclude, I totally disagree that tests and examinations put too much restriction on teachers, while tests do exert pressure on learners, they are definitely needed at the university level.